FAQ about fellowships for individual doctoral training in the LGF-Programme

  

On this page we have compiled the most frequently asked questions about individual doctoral fellowships within the LGF-Programme (Landesgraduiertenförderung). Please read this page before applying for a fellowship. Clicking a question below will take you directly to the answer. If your question is not addressed here, please contact the Graduate Academy.

 

General Questions

Questions About the Evaluation Reports

Questions About the Formal Application Prerequisites

Questions About the Application Documents

Questions About Secondary Employment

Other Questions

 


 

General Questions

By which date must I submit my application?

New applications and applications for the extension must be submitted by 30 April (midnight) by using the online application process. This is also the deadline for the evaluation reports; therefore, please make sure to request the reports from your evaluators in plenty of time.

Exceptions:
Application periods for the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, München (ZI) and the Kunsthistorische Institut, Florenz (KHI) are announced separately.  


 

Has the Graduate Academy received my complete application?

Your application has been submitted in full if you:

  • filled out and submitted the online application form,
  • uploaded your PDF with all five necessary attachments (see call for applications),
  • and finally, after submission, received a notice in your browser confirming that your application was received.

Please remember that the evaluation reports must be submitted by the professors you have selected directly to the Graduate Academy. Therefore, you should contact two professors (for a new application) or your doctoral supervisor (for an application for a fellowship extension) in plenty of time to request the necessary reports.

Please note that if your evaluation reports are not received by the application deadline, your application will not be considered, even if all other documents are complete. There is more information about the evaluation reports below.


 

Can I fill out the application form if I do not have all five attachments ready?

Yes. You can submit the five attachments (as one PDF file) until the end of the application period under the provided link by entering your LGFG identification number or your email address. Please note that if you upload your documents more than once, only the latest version of your application documents will be considered.

Applications with an incomplete PDF will not be considered.

Exception: It is possible to submit a temporary degree certificate if you have not yet received your final university diploma or degree certificate which qualifies you for doctoral training. Please apply for the temporary certificate ahead of time from your faculty.
Please note that you must also submit the official letter of admission as a doctoral student from a faculty at Heidelberg University with your application.


 

Questions About the Evaluation Reports

Who can write my reports?

The reports can be written by any professor worldwide. Please note that they should be university professors as defined by § 44 (1) Nr. 1, LHG Baden-Württemberg. As a rule these are professors, junior professors, junior group leaders, or lecturers with a Habilitation or equivalent qualification. The evaluator should know the applicant personally and should be familiar with his or her academic performance and abilities. In many cases, the doctoral supervisor submits one report. It is not possible for the Graduate Academy to provide assistance in the search for evaluators.

For a new application you will need two evaluation reports. These must be received by the Graduate Academy by the application deadline. Please contact your potential evaluators in plenty of time.

For an application for a fellowship extension (first or second extension) you will need one evaluation report. The report must be received by the Graduate Academy by the application deadline. Please contact your evaluator in plenty of time.

Please make sure to give your evaluator(s) your LGFG identification number or, if you do not yet have an LGFG identification number, your personal email address. In this way, you will be notified as soon as we have received an evaluation report. Please check with your evaluator(s) if you have not received two (for new applications) or one (for extensions) such notification(s) by email before the application deadline.


 

Is there a form for the evaluation report and where do I find it?

Yes. The PDF form for the evaluation report is on the Graduate Academy web site. After the form has been filled out and saved, the evaluator can upload it via the same web site.

Please make sure to give your evaluator(s) your LGFG identification number or, if you do not yet have an LGFG identification number, your personal email address. In this way, you will be notified as soon as we have received an evaluation report. Please check with your evaluator(s) if you have not received two (for new applications) or one (for extensions) such notification(s) by email before the application deadline.


 

How do I find out if all necessary evaluation reports have been submitted?

Please make sure to give your evaluator(s) your LGFG identification number or, if you do not yet have an LGFG identification number, your personal email address. In this way, you will be notified as soon as we have received an evaluation report. Please check with your evaluator(s) if you have not received two (for new applications) or one (for extensions) such notification(s) by email before the application deadline.


 

Questions About the Formal Application Prerequisites

Can I apply for a fellowship if I have not yet been officially admitted to my faculty as a doctoral student?

You must have been admitted as a doctoral student to your faculty or at least applied for admission by the application deadline in order to apply for a LGFG fellowship. If you have not yet received your official letter of admission from the faculty, please contact the LGF representative in your faculty in order to find out whether it is possible for you to submit a confirmation that you have already applied for admission.

Applications submitted without the official letter of admission or a confirmation of application will not be considered.


 

What is a university degree that qualifies the holder for doctoral training?

A university degree that qualifies the holder for doctoral training is an academic degree that entitles a student to pursue a doctoral degree. In Germany this would usually be a Diplom, Magister or master’s degree.


 

I received my university degree qualifying me to pursue doctoral training outside of Germany. May I apply with this degree?

Yes. On the application form, please select "außerhalb Deutschlands” (degree from a university outside Germany) in the field "qualifying degree“ .


 

I am writing my doctoral thesis as part of my studies while still in medical school. May I apply for a fellowship?

No. To apply for a LGF fellowship, you need a successfully completed university degree.



 

Questions About the Application Documents

I would like to apply but can not submit my university degree certificates because I have just finished my degree. What can I do?

In this case, please apply for a temporary degree certificate. The temporary certificate must state that the degree has been successfully completed and must give the grades received.

Please note that you must also submit the official letter of admission as a doctoral student from a faculty at Heidelberg University with your application.


 

Can I make changes to my application documents after I have submitted them?

Yes. You can submit the five attachments (as one PDF file) until the end of the application period under the provided link by entering your LGFG identification number or your email address. Please note that if you upload your documents more than once, only the latest version of your application documents will be considered.


 

Can I submit my documents (project outline, schedule, etc.) in English?

Yes, you can submit your documents in English.


 

Are there format requirements for the project outline and schedule for completion?

The outline is limited to a maximum length of five pages of text plus a bibliography. The schedule for completion of the project is limited to a maximum of one page. As a guideline we recommend a line spacing of 1.5 lines and a font size of 10 to 12 points.


 

Must the additional application documents be uploaded as a PDF? Can I instead submit the documents as a Word document or PowerPoint presentation?

Please upload your application documents only in the form of one PDF. Documents submitted as Word documents, PowerPoint presentations or in similar formats will not be considered. PDF documents can be created directly from Word documents, PowerPoint presentations or most image editing software by using the Adobe PDF function, if installed, or by using free software and the print function.

Please note that the PDF must not exceed the maximum file size of 10MB. Therefore, please be sure to compress images or image files before converting them into a PDF.


 

An error occurred when uploading the application form and my data were not transmitted correctly. What can I do?

Please fill out and submit the application form and upload the PDF with your application documents again. Please ensure that the file is a PDF and does not exceed 10MB in size. After you have filled out the online application form again, you will receive a new identification number and a new confirmation email. Please use only this new identification number in any further correspondence.


 

Questions About Secondary Employment

Can I be gainfully employment during the receipt of the fellowship and what do I have to consider?

Employment during the receipt of the fellowship must be approved and must be related to the discipline of your doctoral studies. If you are employed by Heidelberg University, no overlap between the activities carried out as part of the fellowship and those of the employment is permitted. Employment income exceeding 7.380 Euro (net) per year will be deducted from your fellowship payments.


Can I apply for a fellowship if my current income exceeds 7.380 Euro per year or if it has already exceeded this income limit?

Yes, you can apply for a fellowship even if your current annual income exceeds the sum of 7.380 Euro. If the annual income exceeds the income limit during the period of approval, the fellowship will be reduced by the exceeding amount.

Please note: These regulations come into effect with the beginning of the fellowship and last for its period of approval; your income before as well as after the receipt of the fellowship remain unconsidered. 


 

I am currently receiving an LGF fellowship and my income has changed. What do I need to do?

Please notify the Graduate Academy immediately about the change regardless of whether the maximum income level of 7.380 Euro per year has been exceeded or not. You will find the contact information of the Graduate Academy at the bottom of this page.


 

Other Questions

When and how do I find out if my application was successful?

The Graduate Academy will notify you in writing about the awards decision immediately after the completion of the awards process.


 

Are parallel applications for other fellowships negatively evaluated?

No. Parallel applications for other fellowships will not have negative effects on your application for the LGF-fellowship.

 
 

Who is the LGFG representative in my faculty?

A list of all LGFG representatives is available here.


 

My question has not been answered here.

If you have not found the information you need here, please feel free to contact the Graduate Academy (Ms. Birgit Bell):

 

by email: bell@zuv.uni-heidelberg.de
by telephone: +49 (0) 6221 54-3762

Visitor’s address:
Graduate Academy
Seminarstraße 2
1st floor, room 146
69117 Heidelberg

 

Editor: Akkach
Latest Revision: 2017-08-07
zum Seitenanfang/up

FAQ – Noch Fragen?

 

Hier haben wir zentrale Fragen zusammengestellt, die bei der Bewerbung um ein Individualstipendium der Landesgraduiertenförderung (LGF) oft gestellt werden. Bitte lesen Sie diese Seite aufmerksam durch, bevor Sie Ihre Bewerbung abschicken. Durch Klicken auf eine Frage gelangen Sie direkt zur Antwort. Sollte Ihre Frage hier nicht beantwortet werden, wenden Sie sich bitte an die Graduiertenakademie.

Allgemeine Fragen

Fragen zu den Gutachten

Fragen zu den formalen Voraussetzungen

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

Fragen zu nebenberuflichen Tätigkeiten

Weitere Fragen

  


  

Allgemeine Fragen

Bis wann kann ich mich bewerben?

Über das Online-Bewerbungsformular können Neuanträge und Verlängerungsanträge bis zum 30. April, 24 Uhr eingereicht werden. Diese Frist gilt auch für die zusätzlich einzureichenden Gutachten. Bitte setzen Sie sich daher rechtzeitig mit Ihrem/Ihren Gutachtern in Verbindung.

Ausnahmen:
Ausschreibungsfristen für das Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte, München (ZI) und das Kunsthistorische Institut, Florenz (KHI) werden gesondert bekanntgegeben.


 

Ist meine Bewerbung vollständig bei der Graduiertenakademie eingegangen?

Ihre Bewerbung ist vollständig eingegangen, wenn Sie:

  • das Online-Formular ausgefüllt und abgeschickt,
  • Ihre PDF-Datei mit allen fünf notwendigen Anlagen (siehe Ausschreibung) hochgeladen
  • und nach dem Absenden in Ihrem Browser eine Seite mit einer Erfolgsmeldung angezeigt erhalten haben.

Bitte denken Sie daran, dass zusätzlich Gutachten erforderlich sind, die von Ihren Hochschullehrern direkt in der Graduiertenakademie eingereicht werden. Aus diesem Grund sollten Sie rechtzeitig zwei Hochschullehrer/-innen (bei einem Neuantrag) beziehungsweise Ihren Betreuer/Ihre Betreuerin (bei einem Antrag auf Verlängerung) um ein Gutachten bitten.

Falls Ihre Gutachten bis zum Bewerbungsschluss nicht vorliegen, kann Ihre Bewerbung leider nicht berücksichtigt werden, auch wenn alle anderen Unterlagen vollständig sind. Weitere Informationen zu den Gutachten finden Sie weiter unten.


 

Kann ich das Bewerbungsformular ausfüllen, auch wenn ich noch nicht alle fünf Anlagen zur Hand habe?

Ja, Sie können bis zum Bewerbungsschluss unter dem bereitgestellten Link Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen (in einer PDF-Datei) unter Angabe Ihrer LGFG-Kennziffer oder Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse hochladen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur die zuletzt eingestellte Version Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen bei mehrfachem Hochladen berücksichtigt wird.

Bewerbungen mit unvollständigen Unterlagen in der PDF-Datei können im weiteren Verlauf nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Ausnahme: Anstelle des Hochschulzeugnisses kann ein vorläufiges Zeugnis eingereicht werden, wenn das Zeugnis zu Ihrem promotionsbefähigenden Abschluss noch nicht ausgestellt wurde. Bitte beantragen Sie das vorläufige Zeugnis rechtzeitig bei Ihrer Fakultät! Bitte beachten Sie zusätzlich, dass auch die Annahme als Doktorand/in bei einer Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung vorliegen muss.


 

Fragen zu den Gutachten

Wer kann Gutachten erstellen?

Gutachten können von Hochschullehrer/innen aus allen nationalen und internationalen Universitäten eingereicht werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass als Gutachter bzw. Gutachterin ausschließlich Hochschullehrer/innen im Sinne von § 44 (1) Nr. 1, LHG Baden-Württemberg tätig werden können. In der Regel sind dies Professoren, Juniorprofessoren, Nachwuchsgruppenleiter, Privatdozenten oder Hochschuldozenten mit einer der Habilitation vergleichbaren Qualifikation. Der/Die Gutachter/in sollte persönlich mit dem/der Antragsteller/in und dessen/deren Studienleistungen bekannt sein. In vielen Fällen werden die Promotionsbetreuer/innen herangezogen. Bei der Suche nach Gutachtern kann Sie die Graduiertenakademie leider nicht unterstützen.

  • Für einen Neuantrag auf ein LGF-Individualstipendium benötigen Sie zwei Gutachten, die innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist in der Graduiertenakademie eingehen müssen. Bitte setzen Sie sich dazu rechtzeitig mit den möglichen Gutachtern/Gutachterinnen in Verbindung.
     
  • Für einen Antrag auf Verlängerung eines LGF-Individualstipendiums (1. oder 2. Verlängerung) benötigen Sie ein Gutachten, das innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist eingehen muss. Bitte setzen Sie sich dazu rechtzeitig mit Ihrem Betreuer/Ihrer Betreuerin in Verbindung.

Bitte teilen Sie den Gutachtenden unbedingt Ihre LGFG-Kennziffer bzw., sofern diese noch nicht vorliegt, Ihre persönliche E-Mail-Adresse mit. Sie werden dadurch benachrichtigt, sobald ein Gutachten eingeht. Bitte fragen Sie bei Ihren Gutachtern/Gutachterinnen nach, wenn Sie nicht rechtzeitig vor Ablauf der Frist zwei Benachrichtigungen (für Neuanträge) bzw. eine Benachrichtigung (für Verlängerungsanträge) per E-Mail erhalten.


 

Gibt es ein Formular für Gutachten und wo finde ich dieses?

Ja, das PDF-Formular für die Gutachten wird auf der Website der Graduiertenakademie bereitgestellt. Nachdem das Formular ausgefüllt und gespeichert wurde, kann es vom Gutachter/von der Gutachterin wieder über die Website der Graduiertenakademie hochgeladen werden.

Bitte teilen Sie den Gutachtenden unbedingt Ihre LGFG-Kennziffer bzw., sofern diese noch nicht vorliegt, Ihre persönliche E-Mail-Adresse mit. Sie werden dadurch benachrichtigt, sobald ein Gutachten eingeht. Bitte fragen Sie bei Ihren Gutachtern/Gutachterinnen nach, wenn Sie nicht rechtzeitig vor Ablauf der Frist zwei Benachrichtigungen (für Neuanträge) bzw. eine Benachrichtigung (für Verlängerungsanträge) per E-Mail erhalten.


 

Wie erfahre ich, ob alle erforderlichen Gutachten eingereicht wurden?

Bitte teilen Sie den Gutachtenden unbedingt Ihre LGFG-Kennziffer bzw., sofern diese noch nicht vorliegt, Ihre persönliche E-Mail-Adresse mit. Sie werden dadurch benachrichtigt, sobald ein Gutachten eingeht. Bitte fragen Sie bei Ihren Gutachtern/Gutachterinnen nach, wenn Sie nicht rechtzeitig vor Ablauf der Frist zwei Benachrichtigungen (für Neuanträge) bzw. eine Benachrichtigung (für Verlängerungsanträge) per E-Mail erhalten.


 

Fragen zu den formalen Voraussetzungen

Kann ich mich um ein Stipendium bewerben, obwohl ich noch nicht an der Fakultät als Doktorand/in angenommen wurde?

Die Annahme Ihres Promotionsvorhabens durch die Fakultät ist Voraussetzung für eine Bewerbung auf ein LGF-Stipendium und muss bis zur Bewerbungsfrist vorliegen oder zumindest beantragt sein. Bitte kontaktieren Sie den/die LGF-Beauftragte/n Ihrer Fakultät, um zu erfahren, ob Sie anstelle der Annahmebestätigung eine Bescheinigung über den erfolgten Antrag auf Annahme einreichen können.

Eine Bewerbung ohne eines dieser beiden Dokumente kann nicht weiter berücksichtigt werden.


 

Was versteht man unter einem promotionsbefähigenden Abschluss? 

Ein promotionsbefähigender Abschluss ist ein akademischer Studienabschluss, der zur Promotion berechtigt. In Deutschland sind dies in der Regel Diplom, Magister oder Master.


 

Ich habe meinen promotionsbefähigenden Abschluss im Ausland erworben. Kann ich mich auch damit bewerben? 

Ja. Bitte wählen Sie bei der Bewerbung im Feld "promotionsbefähigender Abschluss" den Eintrag "außerhalb Deutschlands".


 

Ist eine Bewerbung auf ein LGF-Stipendium möglich, wenn man eine Doktorarbeit als Medizinstudent/-in studienbegleitend erstellt? 

Nein, denn Voraussetzung für die Bewerbung ist ein abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium.


 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

Ich möchte mich bewerben, kann aber mein Hochschulzeugnis noch nicht vorlegen, da ich mein Studium erst kürzlich abgeschlossen habe. Was kann ich tun?

Bitte beantragen Sie in diesem Fall rechtzeitig die Ausstellung eines vorläufigen Hochschulzeugnisses. In diesem vorläufigen Zeugnis muss vermerkt sein, dass das Studium erfolgreich abgeschlossen wurde, und welche Noten erzielt wurden.

Bitte beachten Sie zusätzlich, dass auch die Annahme als Doktorand/in bei einer Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung vorliegen muss.


 

Kann ich an meinen hochgeladenen Bewerbungsunterlagen nachträglich etwas ändern?

Ja, Sie können bis zum Bewerbungsschluss unter dem bereitgestellten Link Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen (in einer PDF-Datei) unter Angabe Ihrer LGFG-Kennziffer oder Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse hochladen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur die zuletzt eingestellte Version Ihrer Bewerbungsunterlagen bei mehrfachem Hochladen berücksichtigt wird.


 

Kann ich meine Unterlagen, wie bspw. das Exposé, auf Englisch einreichen?

Ja, Sie können Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen auf Englisch einreichen.


 

Gibt es Formatvorgaben für Projektskizze und Zeitplan?

Nein, die einzige Vorgabe für Ihre Projektskizze ist die Beschränkung auf maximal fünf Seiten Text plus Literaturliste, für den Zeitplan maximal eine Seite. Als Richtwert empfiehlt sich ein 1,5-facher Zeilenabstand und ein Schriftgrad von 10 bis 12 Punkt.


 

Müssen die Anlagen zur Bewerbung als PDF-Datei hochgeladen werden? Kann ich die Anlagen stattdessen auch in einem Word-Dokument oder in PowerPoint zusammenstellen?

Bitte laden Sie ausschließlich eine einzelne PDF-Datei mit Ihren Bewerbungsunterlagen hoch. PowerPoint-Präsentationen, Word-Dokumente oder Ähnliches können nicht berücksichtigt werden. Eine PDF-Datei können Sie aus Word, PowerPoint und aus gängigen Bildbearbeitungsprogrammen direkt erzeugen (sofern das entsprechende Acrobat-Modul installiert ist) oder mit kostenfreien Zusatzprogrammen über das Druckmenü.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die maximale Dateigröße 10 MB nicht überschreiten darf. Komprimieren Sie deshalb gegebenenfalls Bilder und Bilddateien, bevor Sie sie in die PDF-Datei einfügen.


 

Beim Versuch, das Online-Formular abzusenden, ist ein Fehler aufgetreten und meine eingegebenen Daten wurden nicht übernommen. Was kann ich tun?

Bitte füllen Sie das Online-Formular erneut aus und laden Sie Ihre PDF-Datei mit den Bewerbungsunterlagen erneut hoch. Beachten Sie, dass die Datei maximal 10 MB groß sein darf und dass der Dateityp PDF ist. Sie erhalten nach dem erneuten Ausfüllen des Online-Formulars eine neue Kennziffer und eine neue Bestätigungsmail. Bitte verwenden Sie ausschließlich diese neue Kennziffer bei der weiteren Korrespondenz.


 

Fragen zu nebenberuflichen Tätigkeiten

Kann ich neben dem Stipendium einer Tätigkeit nachgehen und was muss ich dabei beachten?

Nebentätigkeiten während des Stipendienbezugs müssen genehmigt werden und einen Bezug zu dem Fach haben, in dem die Promotion angefertigt wird. Bei einem Beschäftigungsverhältnis mit der Universität Heidelberg dürfen sich die Tätigkeiten, die für das Stipendium und für das Arbeitsverhältnis ausgeübt werden, nicht überschneiden. Einnahmen über 7.380 Euro (netto) pro Jahr werden auf das Stipendium angerechnet.


Kann ich mich für ein Stipendium bewerben, wenn mein aktuelles Einkommen über der Grenze von 7.380 Euro pro Jahr liegt oder diese bereits überschritten hat?

Ja, Sie können sich für ein LGF-Stipendium bewerben, selbst wenn Ihr aktuelles Einkommen die jährliche Grenze von 7.380 Euro überschreitet. Wird die Einkommensgrenze während des Bewilligungszeitraums des Stipendiums überschritten, erfolgt eine Anrechnung auf die Höhe des Stipendiums.

Bitte beachten Sie: Diese Regelungen ist erst mit dem Beginn und während der Bewilligungszeit des Stipendiums wirksam; die Höhe Ihres Einkommens vor sowie nach Erhalt des Stipendiums bleibt unberücksichtigt.


 

Ich beziehe zurzeit ein Stipendium nach dem LGFG und meine Einkommensverhältnisse haben sich geändert. Was muss ich tun? 

Bitte informieren Sie die Graduiertenakademie unverzüglich über die Änderungen, unabhängig davon ob die Einkommensgrenze von 7.380 Euro/Jahr überschritten wurde oder nicht. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie unten auf dieser Seite.



 

Weitere Fragen

Wann und wie erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?

Die Graduiertenakademie wird Sie nach Abschluss des Vergabeverfahrens sofort schriftlich informieren, ob Ihre Bewerbung erfolgreich war.


 

Werden Parallelbewerbungen bei anderen Stipendiengebern für das gleiche Promotionsprojekt negativ bewertet?

Nein. Parallelbewerbungen bei anderen Stipendiengebern haben keine negativen Auswirkungen auf Ihre Bewerbung um ein LGF-Stipendium.

 
 

Wer ist an meiner Fakultät die Kontaktperson für LGF-Stipendien?

Eine Liste der Ansprechpartner finden Sie hier.

 

Ich habe keine Antwort auf meine Frage gefunden.

Wenn Ihre Frage auf dieser Seite nicht beantwortet wurde, können Sie sich gerne an die Graduiertenakademie (Frau Birgit Bell) wenden:

per E-Mail: bell@zuv.uni-heidelberg.de
telefonisch: +49 (0) 6221 54-3762

Besucheradresse:
Graduiertenakademie
Seminarstraße 2
1. OG, Zimmer 146
69117 Heidelberg

 

Verantwortlich: Akkach
Letzte Änderung: 07.08.2017
zum Seitenanfang/up