Bereichsbild
Contact

Graduate Academy of Heidelberg University

Academic and Professional Development

Seminarstr. 2
1st Floor, Room 135
69117 Heidelberg


N. N.
Telephone Icon 17x17 + 49 (0) 6221 54 - 3794
E-Mail ga-weiterbildung@zuv.
uni-heidelberg.de

Deputy coordinator:
Dr. Claudia Falk

 

 
Useful Links

Graduate Academy Seminar Programme

Seminarprogramm 2017 Cover
Click image to download seminar programme
The seminar programme of the Graduate Academy supports doctoral candidates in developing the skills and in obtaining the qualifications necessary to successfully accomplish their dissertations and to develop professional perspectives for their career in academia or in the private sector.

Beside the open course programme for which doctoral candidates can register individually, we organise courses for structured doctoral programmes. These courses are provided in cooperation with collaborators at the University as well as with qualified trainers.

Further information:
► Information for Structured Doctoral Programmes
► Our Collaborators
► Our Trainers

 

Current Course Programme

April 2017

  • English

    Deutsch für Nachwuchswissenschaftler (German Language Course)

    Tue, 18.04.2017; Thu, 20.04.2017; Tue, 25.04.2017; Thu, 27.04.2017; Tue, 02.05.2017; Thu, 04.05.2017; Tue, 09.05.2017; Thu, 11.05.2017; Tue, 16.05.2017; Thu, 18.05.2017; Tue, 23.05.2017; Thu, 25.05.2017; Tue, 30.05.2017; Thu, 01.06.2017; Tue, 06.06.2017; Thu, 08.06.2017; Tue, 13.06.2017; Thu, 15.06.2017; Tue, 20.06.2017; Thu, 22.06.2017; Tue, 27.06.2017; Thu, 29.06.2017; Tue, 04.07.2017; Thu, 06.07.2017; Tue, 11.07.2017; Thu, 13.07.2017; Tue, 18.07.2017; Thu, 20.07.2017; Tue, 25.07.2017; Thu, 27.07.2017

June 2017

July 2017

August 2017

September 2017

Registration / Cancellation

 

The courses are only open to doctoral students who are registered at a faculty of Heidelberg University. Doctoral students who are registered at a foreign university but are in Heidelberg temporarily for research purposes can take part in the courses if they are matriculated as a visiting student or have a visiting scholar card (the card is available at the Welcome Centre).

Registration for the courses takes place through an online form found at the end of each course description.

Registration is binding. You can cancel your registration in writing (by email) up to 14 days before the course begins without penalty. Afterwards, we will have to retain your course fee unless you can provide a doctor’s certificate in the case of illness or we can fill your place with someone from the waiting list. Important: If you fail to attend more than one course without giving notice, you will not be allowed to register for any courses at the Graduate Academy in the following semester. Registration and participation in our courses will be permitted only in the semester after that.

Please keep in mind that we have waiting lists for many courses. If you register for a course and then fail to attend without giving notice, your place can not be filled even though there may be another doctoral student who needed or was interested in the course.

We expect participants to be present for the entire duration of the course. Exceptions can be made only after prior consultation with the Graduate Academy. We will issue certificates of participation only to those participants who have attended at least 80% of the course.

Fees

 

We charge a small fee for the courses, usually in the amount of 15 Euro per course day (exceptions are possible). This is a lump-sum fee that covers the costs for refreshments and course materials, among others. Any surplus which may arise flows back into the course programme.

Several weeks before the course begins, you will receive a payment request containing the pertinent bank account and reference information. We ask you to pay the fee by bank transfer within one week.

We charge different fees for the German language courses. The regulations for these courses are found in the course description.

If you have any questions or suggestions, you are welcome to contact us:

Tel.: 06221 / 54-3794
Email: ga-seminare@zuv.uni-heidelberg.de

Visitors' Address:
Graduate Academy
Seminarstraße 2, 1st floor, room 136

Venues

Evaluation

Quality Management of the Seminar Programme

The Graduate Academy ensures the high quality of the course programme in cooperation with its partners, the Department for Key Competencies and Higher Education. For this purpose, each course is evaluated by the participants. In addition, we consider the popularity of the courses. In the case of courses organised specifically for structured doctoral programmes we also take into account the feedback of the programme coordinators.

Participant Feedback (Selection)

Course: Strategies for a successful doctorate

“The project structure plan helped me to get an overview of my project.”

“The advice on preparing meetings was very helpful and I definitely will make use of it.”

Course: Scientific Writing

“The methods helped me to clarify my aims and to structure the text.”

“The discussions and the feedback gave me many ideas for improvements.”

 

 

Editor: Eric Herbst
Latest Revision: 2017-04-12
zum Seitenanfang/up