Bereichsbild
Contact

Graduate Academy
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
  E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Guidelines / FAQs for applying for a grant to support a doctoral initiative at the Faculty of Theology

» Application procedure and forms

 

 

 

General questions
 

► Who can apply for a grant for a doctoral initiative?
► What is a "doctoral initiative"?
► Which expenses can be reimbursed by this grant?
► When should we apply?
► How do we know if the Graduate Academy has received our application?
► When will we be notified of the decision regarding our application?
► What do we have to submit to have the grant paid out?
► When will we receive the grant?
► Can we apply for an advance payment of the costs?
► What happens to our grant if we cannot carry out the initiative?
► What happens if we have to postpone the initiative or make other fundamental changes?

 

Questions about the application forms


► What do we need to consider when filling out the application form?
► Do we need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?
► What is meant by "external funding" and why are we asked about it?
► Who can issue the evaluation forms for our application?

 


 

General questions

 

Who can apply for a grant for a doctoral initiative?

These grants are only open to doctoral candidates who have been officially admitted to the Faculty of Theology at Heidelberg University.

The application should be made by at least two doctoral candidates of the Faculty.

Eligibility for funding ends at the latest three months after the end of the month in which you take your final examination or at the end of the month in which your doctoral studies at Heidelberg University are completed for other reasons (e.g. through publication of your thesis, termination of your doctoral studies in Heidelberg or transfer to another university to pursue doctoral studies).

Each doctoral candidate can apply once per semester.

When evaluating the applications, the committee will prioritize both the academic relevance of an initiative as well as initiatives for which an application is being submitted for the first time.

 

What is a "doctoral initiative"?

The grant is intended to support group-related activities or events that are developed and implemented by the doctoral candidates in the Faculty of Theology themselves (such as doctoral conferences focusing on networking and the exchange of methodologies and research results, workshops etc.).

 

Which expenses can be reimbursed by this grant?

Expenses up to a maximum of Euro 2,000 can be reimbursed for a doctoral initiative for the organization of a conference and up to a maximum of Euro 4,000 for a series of conferences (including preparation and postprocessing).

The following expenses, which are directly related to the organization and implementation of the doctoral initiative, can be reimbursed through the grant:

  • Fees, travel expenses and accommodations for external trainers and guest speakers
  • Catering (if compatible with the budgetary rules of Heidelberg University, see here for more information)
  • Materials (e.g. for posters, brochures, flyers, programs)
  • Room rentals

Important:

  • If the actual final cost of the initiative turns out to be more than the approved grant amount, the difference will not be reimbursed.
  • The reimbursement of expenses incurred by a doctoral initiative is governed by the budgetary rules of Heidelberg University. After an initiative has been approved, we will have to examine on a case by case basis whether the expenses that you have indicated are able to be reimbursed by our grant under these rules.

 

When should we apply?

Applications can be submitted at any time. Applications will be collected and assessed as a group after the deadlines indicated below. The awards notifications will be sent out about 8 weeks after the deadlines. The initiative should take place within 6 months of the award of the grant.

Deadlines:

February 1
June 1
October 1


Important:

  • Grants cannot be approved retroactively for doctoral initiatives that have already been implemented. Therefore, we recommend that you take note of the deadlines and plan accordingly.
  • Incomplete applications will not be considered.

 

How do we know if the Graduate Academy has received our application?

Unfortunately, it is not possible for us to automatically notify each applicant that their application has been received. If you want to check on the status of your application, please send an email to: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

Please note that incomplete applications will not be considered.

 

When will we be notified of the decision regarding our application?

The awards notifications are sent out after the entire evaluation process is completed; this process takes about 8 weeks after each application deadline. It is not possible to inform you about the results of your application before all evaluations are completed.

 

In the case of expenses that you paid out rather than those that were covered directly by the Graduate Academy, you must submit the appropriate reimbursement form (which is sent out with the approval notice) as well as all of the original invoices and payment records for the expenses that you have covered. Expenses for which you do not have a receipt cannot be reimbursed.

If you received external funding for this doctoral initiative, please include a copy of your reimbursement application for the external organization with the Graduate Academy reimbursement form. In this case, external funding is funding received from an external source that is used to cover the expenses of the doctoral initiative.

 

When will we receive our grant?

If you are awarded a grant, your actual expenses (up to the maximum possible grant amount) will be reimbursed only after the doctoral initiative has been completed and you have submitted the necessary documents to the Graduate Academy. Please note that the documents required for the payment of the grant must be submitted to the Graduate Academy no later than 8 weeks after completion of the initiative.

For the reimbursement of external trainers' or guest speakers' travel expenses and accommodations certain contractual agreements must be concluded in advance. You will receive all of the pertinent information about this if your application is approved.

 

Can we apply for an advance payment of the costs?

Yes. You can indicate on the application form (see » Application procedure and forms) that you would like to apply for an advance payment of the expenses that will be paid by you directly (e.g. printing costs for programs etc.) if these expenses amount to 200 Euro or more. If the grant is approved, an advance payment of 80% of the amount that you indicate will be paid to you. The reimbursement of your remaining expenses, up to the remaining 20% of the amount indicated, will be made to you only after you have submitted the necessary documents for reimbursement as listed above.

Please note:

  • The advance payment is conditional and can be revoked by the Graduate Academy. If you do not submit all of the necessary documents to the Graduate Academy at the latest 8 weeks after completion of the initiative or if the initiative is not carried out, you will be required to repay the advance payment to the Graduate Academy immediately.
  • If your actual total expenses come to less than the advance payment, you must reimburse the difference to the Graduate Academy.

 

What happens to our grant if we cannot carry out the initiative?

The grant is not transferable to another person or to a different activity or event. Therefore, if you are unable to carry out the planned initiative, you will automatically forfeit your award.

 

What happens to our grant if we have to postpone the initiative or make other fundamental changes?

In this case you must contact the Graduate Academy as soon as possible in order to notify us of the changes. A decision will be made on a case-to-case basis as to whether the grant approval can be upheld in the new situation.

 

 

Questions about the application forms

 

What do we need to consider when filling out the application form?

Please fill out the application form (see » Application procedure and forms) electronically; do not handwrite your application. In order to ensure that the electronic forms work with all versions of the Adobe software, we strongly recommend that you first download and save the empty application form on your computer and then fill out the form and save it again.

Please use an Apple or Windows operating system to fill out the forms. The forms are not compatible with a Linux system.

Please use only the space provided in the existing fields on the application forms. The evaluators will not be able to read any text that extends beyond the existing limits of the fields.

Please do not change the formatting of the fields on the application forms.

 

Do we need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?

The application procedure and required application documents are indicated in detail here. No additional documents that are not listed on the website such as publication lists, literature lists, or CVs will be sent to the evaluators.

 

What is meant by "external funding" and why are we asked about it?

“External funding” refers to funds that you have received from an external funding organization for the planned doctoral initiative. If you will receive or have received funding from an external source to cover part of the doctoral initiative, the grant awarded will be reduced by the amount of the external funding.

 

Who can issue the evaluation forms for our application?

The evaluation form for your application must be issued and submitted to the Graduate Academy by your supervisors. Please note that the evaluations are to be treated confidentially by your supervisors and must be sent by your supervisors directly to the Graduate Academy: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de
Please be aware that the application deadlines also pertain to the receipt of the evaluation form.

If it is not possible for your first supervisor to fill out the evaluation form for you (e.g. due to illness, parental leave etc.), you can ask another professor in your subject area who is familiar with your project to evaluate your application and complete the form for you.

 

» APPLICATION PROCEDURE AND FORMS

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 2021-06-30
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Graduiertenakademie
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Richtlinien / FAQs für die Bewerbung um einen Zuschuss zur Doktorandeninitiative an der Theologischen Fakultät

 

» Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare

 

Allgemeine Fragen

 

► Wer kann einen Zuschuss zur Doktorandeninitiative beantragen?
► Was ist unter "Doktorandeninitiative" zu verstehen?
► Welche Kosten werden im Rahmen des Zuschusses zur Doktorandeninitiative erstattet?
► Wann sollen wir uns bewerben?
► Wie können wir sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie unsere Bewerbung erhalten hat?
► Wann erfahren wir, ob unsere Bewerbung erfolgreich war?
► Was müssen wir tun, um den Zuschuss ausbezahlt zu bekommen?
► Wann erfolgt die Auszahlung des Zuschusses?
► Können wir eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen?
► Was passiert mit dem bewilligten Zuschuss, wenn wir die Doktorandeninitiative nicht durchführen können?
► Was passiert mit dem bewilligten Zuschuss, wenn wir die Doktorandeninitiative verschieben müssen oder sich sonstige Änderungen ergeben?

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

► Was müssen wir beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?
► Müssen wir abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?
► Was sind Drittmittel und warum müssen wir diese angeben?
► Wer kann die Stellungnahme für unseren Antrag ausstellen?
 

 



Allgemeine Fragen

 

Wer kann einen Zuschuss zur Doktorandeninitiative beantragen?

Antragsberechtigt sind ausschließlich Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die an der Theologischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg als Doktorand/in angenommen sind.

Ein Antrag für den Zuschuss der Doktorandeninitiative sollte von mindestens zwei Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fakultät beantragt und verantwortet werden.

Die Berechtigung zur Förderung endet spätestens drei Monate nach Ablauf des Monats, in dem die letzte mündliche Prüfung stattfindet, bzw. mit Ablauf des Monats, in dem die Promotion an der Universität Heidelberg aus anderen Gründen beendet wird (z.B. bei Abschluss des Promotionsverfahrens durch Publikation der Arbeit, Abbruch der Promotion oder einem Weggang an eine andere Universität zum Zwecke der Promotion).

Die Antragstellung ist pro Doktorand/in einmal pro Semester möglich.

Bei der Vergabe der Mittel werden neben der wissenschaftlichen Relevanz Initiativen bevorzugt, für die erstmalig ein Antrag auf Förderung gestellt wird.

 

Was ist unter "Doktorandeninitiative" zu verstehen?

Bei der Doktorandeninitiative handelt es sich um einen Zuschuss zur Finanzierung von gruppenbezogenen Maßnahmen, die von den Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Theologischen Fakultät selbst entwickelt und umgesetzt werden. Gefördert werden Workshops und Vernetzungstreffen, durch die der wissenschaftliche (innerfachliche) Austausch gestärkt wird.

 

Welche Kosten werden im Rahmen des Zuschusses zur Doktorandeninitiative erstattet?

Es werden Kosten von bis zu maximal 2.000 Euro für die Durchführung einer Tagung und bis zu maximal 4.000 Euro für die Durchführung einer Tagungsreihe (inkl. Vor- und Nachbereitungstreffen) übernommen.

Grundsätzlich können folgende Kosten, die direkt mit der Organisation und Durchführung der Doktorandeninitiative zusammenhängen, erstattet werden:

  • Honorare sowie Reise- und Unterbringungskosten für externe Trainer/innen und Gastredner/innen
  • Bewirtungskosten (sofern vereinbar mit den haushaltsrechtlichen Vorgaben der Universität Heidelberg, siehe hier für weitere Informationen)
  • Materialkosten (bspw. für Poster, Broschüren, Flyer, Programmhefte)
  • Raummiete

Wichtig:

  • Sollten die tatsächlichen Gesamtkosten der Doktorandeninitiative die bewilligte Fördersumme überschreiten, kann die Differenz nicht erstattet werden.
  • Für die Erstattung der Ausgaben zur Durchführung einer Doktorandeninitiative gelten die haushalts­rechtlichen Bestimmungen der Universität Heidelberg. Bei Bewilligung der Maßnahme muss im Einzelfall geprüft werden, ob die von Ihnen angegebenen Kosten durch den Zuschuss zur Doktorandeninitiative erstattet werden können.

 

Wann sollen wir uns bewerben?

Bewerbungen können zu jedem Zeitpunkt eingereicht werden.

Die Begutachtung der Anträge erfolgt zu den unten aufgeführten Stichtagen für den Eingang der Bewerbungen. Die Förderentscheidung wird ca. 8 Wochen nach diesen Stichtagen bekannt gegeben. Die Initiative sollte innerhalb von 6 Monaten nach Eingang der Förderbewilligung durchgeführt werden.

 

Stichtage:

1. Februar
1. Juni
1. Oktober


Wichtig:

  • Der Zuschuss kann nicht rückwirkend, d.h. für bereits in der Vergangenheit stattgefundene Doktorandeninitiativen, gewährt werden. Bitte beachten Sie daher die o.g. Stichtage bei Ihrer Antragstellung.
  • Anträge, die nicht rechtzeitig eingereicht werden sowie unvollständige Anträge können nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Wie können wir sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie unsere Bewerbung erhalten hat?

Leider ist es uns nicht möglich, den Eingang jeder Bewerbung automatisch zu bestätigen. Falls Sie sichergehen möchten, dass Ihre Bewerbung bei uns eingegangen ist und bearbeitet wird, können Sie sich per E-Mail an uns wenden: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de
Bitte beachten Sie, dass unvollständige Bewerbungen nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Wann erfahren wir, ob unsere Bewerbung erfolgreich war?

Das Begutachtungsverfahren dauert ca. 8 Wochen nach Ablauf der festgelegten Stichtage. Die Bewilligungs- bzw. Ablehnungsbescheide werden unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Verfahrens auf dem Postweg verschickt.
Es ist nicht möglich, Sie über die Ergebnisse Ihrer Bewerbung vor Abschluss des Begutachtungsverfahrens zu informieren.

 

Was müssen wir tun, um den Zuschuss ausbezahlt zu bekommen?

Für die Erstattung der Ausgaben, die nicht direkt von der Graduiertenakademie beglichen sondern deren Kosten direkt von Ihnen entrichtet werden, ist es notwendig, dass Sie das ausgefüllte Formular zur Auszahlung des Zu­schusses zur Doktorandeninitiative (welches Ihnen zusammen mit dem positiven Bescheid zugeschickt wird) sowie alle Original-Belege und -Quittungen der entstan­denen Kosten einreichen. Ausgaben, für die Sie keinen Nach­weis vorlegen, können nicht erstattet werden.

Sollten Sie Drittmittel für die Finanzierung der Doktorandeninitiative erhalten haben, reichen Sie bitte auch eine Kopie Ihres Antrags bei der externen Organisation/Einrichtung mit unserem Abrechnungsformular ein. Als Drittmittel gelten in diesem Fall Fördergelder von dritter Seite für die Erstattung von Kosten zur Durchführung der Doktorandeninitiative.

 

Wann erfolgt die Auszahlung des Zuschusses?

Bei Bewilligung des Zuschusses werden die Kosten (unter Berücksichtigung des maximal möglichen Förderbetrags) nach Durchführung der Doktorandeninitiative und Eingang der notwendigen Unterlagen erstattet. Bitte beachten Sie, dass hierfür alle erforderlichen Nachweise spätestens 8 Wochen nach Abschluss der Doktorandeninitiative in der Graduiertenakademie eingereicht werden müssen.

Die Auszahlung von Honoraren sowie Reise- und Unterbringungskosten an externe Trainer/innen und Gastredner/innen unterliegt bestimmten vertraglichen Vereinbarungen, die im Voraus getroffen werden müssen. Alle notwendigen Informationen werden Ihnen bei Bewilligung des Zuschusses zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

Können wir eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen?

Ja. Für Kosten, die direkt von Ihnen entrichtet werden (bspw. Druckkosten für Programmhefte o.ä.), können Sie ab einer Summe von 200 Euro im Bewerbungsformular  (siehe: » Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare) eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen. Bei Bewilligung des Zuschusses wird der Abschlag in Höhe von 80% der genannten Summe ausgezahlt. Die Erstattung der restlichen Kosten i.H.v. bis zu maximal 20% des genannten Betrags erfolgt nach Eingang der erforderlichen Unterlagen und unter Berücksichtigung der maximalen Förder­summe.

Bitte beachten Sie:

  • Die Auszahlung des Abschlags steht unter Vorbehalt und kann von der Graduierten­akademie widerrufen werden. Sollten die erforderlichen Unterlagen nicht spätestens 8 Wochen nach Abschluss der Doktorandeninitiative in der Graduiertenakademie eingehen oder sollte die Doktorandeninitiative nicht durchgeführt werden, muss umgehend eine Rückerstattung der Abschlagszahlung an die Graduiertenakademie erfolgen.
  • Sollten die tatsächlichen Kosten unter der Höhe der Ab­schlagszahlung liegen, muss eine Rückerstattung des Differenzbetrags an die Graduiertenakademie erfolgen.

 

Was passiert mit unserem bewilligten Zuschuss, wenn wir die Doktorandeninitiative nicht durchführen können?

Der Zuschuss ist weder auf eine andere Doktorandeninitiative noch auf eine andere Person übertragbar. Sollten Sie die Maßnahme nicht durchführen können, verfällt der Zuschuss ohne Ersatz.

 

Was passiert mit unserem bewilligten Zuschuss, wenn wir die Doktorandeninitiative verschieben müssen oder sich sonstige Änderungen ergeben?

Sollten sich Änderungen bei der Doktorandeninitiative ergeben, informieren Sie bitte schnellstmöglich die Graduiertenakademie. Wir werden im Einzelfall prüfen und entscheiden, ob die Bewilligung aufrechterhalten werden kann.

 

 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

 

Was müssen wir beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?

Bitte füllen Sie das Bewerbungsformular (siehe: » Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare) elektronisch aus. Speichern Sie hierfür das Formular auf Ihrem Computer, bevor Sie die Felder ausfüllen. Ihre Eintragungen werden sonst unter Umständen nicht übermittelt. Nach dem Ausfüllen speichern Sie die Änderungen bitte erneut.
Bitte benutzen Sie ein Apple- oder Windows-Betriebssystem, um die Formulare auszufüllen. Die Formulare sind nicht mit einem Linux-System kompatibel.
Bitte nutzen Sie in den Bewerbungsformularen nur die bereitgestellte Fläche für Ihre Eintragungen und ändern Sie nicht die Formatierung der Felder. Die Gutachterkommission kann keinen Text außerhalb der angegebenen Felder lesen.

 

Müssen wir abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?

Alle Formulare und Dokumente, die für die Begutachtung Ihres Antrags notwendig sind, werden hier abgefragt. Zusätzliche Dokumente, wie Publikationslisten, Literaturverzeichnisse oder Lebensläufe, werden nicht zur Begutachtung weitergeleitet.

 

Was sind Drittmittel und warum müssen wir diese angeben?

Drittmittel sind finanzielle Mittel, die Ihnen von dritter Seite für die vorliegende Doktorandeninitiative zur Verfügung gestellt werden oder wurden.
Sollten Sie bereits eine Förderung von dritter Seite für die Umsetzung der Doktorandeninitiative erhalten, erfolgt eine Anrechnung der Drittmittel auf die Fördersumme.

 

Wer kann die Stellungnahme für unseren Antrag ausstellen?

Die Stellungnahme muss von Ihren Betreuerinnen/Betreuern ausgestellt werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Stellungnahme vertraulich gegenüber den Bewerberinnen/Bewerbern zu behandeln und direkt per E-Mail an die Graduiertenakademie (ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de) zu schicken ist. Für das Einreichen der Stellungnahme gelten die gleichen Stichtage wie für die Bewerbungen.

Im Falle einer Verhinderung der Erstbetreuerin/des Erstbetreuers (Krankheit, Elternzeit, etc.) kann auch ein/e andere/r Hochschullehrer/in des Faches um die Begutachtung des Antrags und die Ausstellung der Stellungnahme gebeten werden.

 

» BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN UND -FORMULARE

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 30.06.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up