Bereichsbild
Contact

Graduate Academy
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
  E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Guidelines / FAQs for applying for a travel grant from the Faculty of Theology


 » Application procedure and forms

 

General questions
 

► Who can apply for a travel grant?
► Which expenses can be reimbursed by the travel grant?
► When should I apply?
► Can I apply for a travel grant before I have received the acceptance confirmation?
► How do I know if the Graduate Academy has received my application?
► When will I be notified of the decision regarding my application?
► What do I have to submit to have the travel grant paid out?
► When will I receive my travel grant?
► Can I apply for an advance payment of my travel costs?
► What happens to my travel grant if I cannot go on my planned trip?

 

Questions about the application forms


► What do I need to consider when filling out the application form?
Do I need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?
► I do not know exactly how much the trip will cost. Which expenses do I enter on the application form?
► What is meant by "external funding" and why am I asked about it?
► Who can issue the evaluation form for my application?

 


 

General questions

 

Who can apply for a travel grant?

The travel grants are only open to doctoral candidates who are officially admitted to the Faculty of Theology at Heidelberg University.

Eligibility for funding ends at the latest 3 months after the end of the month in which you take your final examination or at the end of the month in which your doctoral studies at Heidelberg University are completed for other reasons (e.g. through publication of your thesis, termination of your doctoral studies in Heidelberg or transfer to another university to pursue doctoral studies).

You can apply for a grant only once per semester during your doctoral studies

In evaluating the applications, priority will be given to applicants who are participating in international conferences or who have received an invitation from the conference organizers to participate in a conference or to those who are actively contributing to the conference with a talk or a poster.  

 

Please note: Due to current travel restrictions in Germany and abroad, we would like to draw your attention to Heidelberg University's travel regulations as well as to the country-specific travel warnings made by the Federal Foreign Office in connection with COVID-19. In addition, we ask all recipients of a travel grant to inform themselves before travelling about departure and arrival rules as well as about quarantine regulations. Please also keep up-to-date on these rules while travelling because they can change quickly. The website of the University personnel department provides information travel rules and restrictions (Business trips).

 

Which expenses can be reimbursed by the travel grant?

The travel grant can be used for expenses connected with participation in conferences and summer/ winter schools. The grant can cover travel costs (not including meals and accommodations) and registration fees up to max. Euro 1,500 per trip. The grant amount can exceed Euro 1,500 in the case of conferences outside of Europe, in accordance with the framework determined by the “Reisekostengesetz”. 

The travel grant will reimburse your actual expenses for:

  • transport (airfare, train fare, public transportation etc.)
  • registration fees

The travel grant does not cover:

  • accommodations
  • meals
  • books, photocopying, bench fees and entertainment
  • expenses related to private travel
  • trip cancellation insurance

If your actual expenses exceed the amount for which you have applied or the maximum grant amount indicated above, this difference will not be refunded.

 

 

When should I apply?

 

Applications can be submitted at any time. Applications will be collected and assessed as a group after the deadlines indicated below. The trips should take place within a period of 6 months following these deadlines

 

Deadlines in the winter semester:

October 1
December 1
February 1

 

Deadlines in the summer semester:

April 1
June 1
August 1


Please take note of the deadlines and corresponding travel periods. We advise you to apply at the earliest relevant deadline to facilitate the planning of your trip. The awards notifications are sent out about 4 to 6 weeks after the deadlines listed above. If your trip takes place during the evaluation period, we will not be able to notify you of the results of your application before your trip begins.

Important: Incomplete applications and applications submitted after the latest appropriate deadline will not be considered.

 

Can I apply for a travel grant before I have received the acceptance confirmation?

Yes. In such cases, the award of a travel grant is conditional upon the receipt of the acceptance confirmation. Please indicate on the application form when you expect to hear from the organizer/research institute and submit the acceptance letter as soon as you receive it via email to: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

How do I know if the Graduate Academy has received my application?

Unfortunately, it is not possible for us to automatically notify each applicant that their application has been received. If you want to check on the status of your application, please send an email to: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

Please note that incomplete applications will not be considered.

 

When will I be notified of the decision regarding my application?

The awards notifications are sent out after the entire evaluation process is completed; this process takes about 4-6 weeks after each application deadline. It is not possible to inform you about the results of your application before all evaluations are completed and there is no fast track evaluation process for trips that fall within the evaluation period. If your trip takes place within this period, you cannot expect to receive the results of your application before you travel.

 

You must send in the appropriate form (which is sent out with the approval notice) and all of the original receipts for the expenses you wish to claim. Please note that only expenses listed here can be reimbursed by the travel grant. Expenses for which you do not have a receipt cannot be reimbursed.

If you received external funding for this trip, please include a copy of your reimbursement application for the external organization with the form that you submit to the Graduate Academy in order to have the travel grant paid out. In this case, external funding is funding from an external source that is used to cover your expenses for registration fees or transport.

 

When will I receive my travel grant?

If you are awarded a travel grant, your actual expenses up to the maximum amount of the grant will be reimbursed. The expenses will be reimbursed only after you have completed your trip. Please note that the documents required for the payment of the travel grant need to be submitted to the Graduate Academy no later than 1 month after the trip has taken place.

 

Can I apply for an advance payment of my travel costs?

Yes. For travel expenses of 200 Euro or more you can indicate on the application form (see » Application procedure and forms) that you would like to apply for an advance payment. If the travel grant is approved, an advance payment of 80% of the final grant amount will be paid to you. The reimbursement of your remaining expenses, up to a maximum of 20% of the total amount of the grant, will be paid to you only after you have submitted the necessary documents for reimbursement as listed above.

Please note:

  • The advance payment of travel costs is conditional and can be revoked by the Graduate Academy. If you do not submit all of the necessary documents to the Graduate Academy at the latest one month after completing your trip or if you do not carry out your trip, you will be required to repay the advance payment to the Graduate Academy immediately or at the latest 1 month after completion of the trip.
  • If your actual total expenses come to less than the advance payment, you must reimburse the difference to the Graduate Academy.

 

What happens to my travel grant if I cannot go on my planned trip?

The travel grant is not transferable to another person or to a different event. Therefore, if you are unable to carry out your planned trip, you will automatically forfeit your award. Because of this, we recommend that you take out trip cancellation insurance. Please note that these costs are not covered by the travel grant.

 

 

Questions about the application forms

 

What do I need to consider when filling out the application form?

Please fill out the application form (see » Application procedure and forms) electronically; do not handwrite your application. In order to ensure that the electronic forms work with all versions of the Adobe software, we strongly recommend that you first download and save the empty application form on your computer and then fill out the form and save it again.

Please use an Apple or Windows operating system to fill out the forms. The forms are not compatible with a Linux system.

Please use only the space provided in the existing fields on the application forms. The evaluators will not be able to read any text that extends beyond the existing limits of the fields.

Please do not change the formatting of the fields on the application forms.

 

Do I need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?

The application procedure and required documents are indicated in detail here. No additional documents that are not listed on the website such as publication lists, literature lists, or CVs will be sent to the evaluators.

 

I do not know exactly how much the trip will cost. Which expenses do I enter on the application form?

If you do not yet know your exact expenses, enter your best estimate on the application form. Please be aware that if you receive a travel grant, the amount awarded in the grant will be based on these expenses and the maximum grant amount. It will not be possible to claim more than the amount you enter on the application form.

 

What is meant by "external funding" and why am I asked about it?

“External funding” refers to funds that you have received from an external funding organization for your trip, for your doctoral project or for another research project.
The fact that you have been awarded external funding can be of advantage to you in the evaluation process. For example, the receipt of an external grant or fellowship will be treated as a prize or distinction on your part.

If you will receive or have received funding from an external source (to cover your registration fees or transport), the external funding amount will be offset against the amount approved for this travel grant and/or against the actual expenses you incur on your trip.

 

Who can issue the evaluation form for my application?

The evaluation form for your application should be issued and submitted to the Graduate Academy by your doctoral supervisor. Please note that the evaluation is to be treated confidentially by your supervisor and must be sent by your supervisor directly to the Graduate Academy: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

Please be aware that the application deadlines also pertain to the receipt of the evaluation form.

If it is not possible for your first supervisor to fill out the evaluation form for you (e.g. due to illness, parental leave etc.), you can ask another professor in your subject area who is familiar with your project to evaluate your application and complete the form for you.

 

» APPLICATION PROCEDURE AND FORMS

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 2021-07-22
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Graduiertenakademie
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Richtlinien / FAQs für die Bewerbung um eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe an der Theologischen Fakultät

» Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare

 

Allgemeine Fragen

► Wer kann eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe beantragen?
► Wofür kann ich eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe beantragen und welche Kosten sind erstattungsfähig?
► Wann soll ich mich bewerben?
► Kann ich mich für eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe bewerben, bevor die Teilnahmebestätigung des Veranstalters vorliegt?
► Wie kann ich sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie meine Bewerbung erhalten hat?
► Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?
► Was muss ich tun, um die Mobilitätsbeihilfe ausbezahlt zu bekommen?
► Wann erfolgt die Auszahlung der Mobilitätsbeihilfe?
► Kann ich eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen?
► Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Mobilitätsbeihilfe, wenn ich die geplante Reise nicht antreten kann?

 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

► Was muss ich beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?
► Muss ich abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?
► Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wie hoch die Kosten meiner Reise sein werden. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?
► Was sind Drittmittel und warum muss ich diese angeben?
► Wer kann die Stellungnahme für meinen Antrag ausstellen?
 

 



Allgemeine Fragen

 

Wer kann eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe beantragen?

Antragsberechtigt sind ausschließlich Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die an der Theologischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg als Doktorand/in angenommen sind.

Die Berechtigung zur Förderung endet spätestens 3 Monate nach Ablauf des Monats, in dem die letzte mündliche Prüfung stattfindet, bzw. mit Ablauf des Monats, in dem die Promotion an der Universität Heidelberg aus anderen Gründen beendet wird (z.B. bei Abschluss des Promotionsverfahrens durch Publikation der Arbeit, Abbruch der Promotion oder einem Weggang an eine andere Universität zum Zwecke der Promotion).

Die Förderung kann pro Doktorand/in einmal pro Semester während der Promotionszeit beantragt werden.

Bei der Vergabe der Mittel werden Antragsstellerinnen und Antragssteller bevorzugt, die an internationalen Konferenzen oder an Konferenzen, für die eine Einladung des Veranstalters vorliegt, teilnehmen oder einen eigenen Tagungsbeitrag (Vortrag oder Poster) einbringen.

 

Bitte beachten Sie: Aufgrund der geltenden Reisebeschränkungen (Inland und Ausland) weisen wir alle Doktoandinnen und Doktoranden auf die Reiseregelungen der Universität und auf die länderspezifischen Reisewarnungen des Auswärtigen Amtes im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus hin. Alle Empfängerinnen und Empfänger einer Mobilitätsbeihilfe werden darüber hinaus darum gebeten, bereits vor Reiseantritt die Ab- und Einreisebestimmungen sowie Quarantäneverordnungen zu überprüfen und weitere Änderungen der Reise- und Sicherheitshinweise im Auge zu behalten. Bitte informieren Sie sich hierzu insbesondere auf der Webseite der Personalabteilung (Informationen zu Dienstreisen).

 

Wofür kann ich eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe beantragen und welche Kosten sind erstattungsfähig?

Gefördert werden Tagungsteilnahmen, Konferenzen, Besuche von Summer-/Winterschools etc. in der Regel mit bis zu 1.500 Euro pro Reise für Reisekosten (ohne Unterkunft und Verpflegung) und Tagungs- bzw. Teilnahmegebühren. Die Fördersumme kann bei außereuropäischen Konferenzen überschritten werden, entsprechend des im Reisekostengesetz üblichen Rahmens.

Im Detail sind folgende Kosten durch die Mobilitätsbeihilfe erstattungsfähig:

  • Kosten für Hin- und Rückreise sowie Beförderungen vor Ort (Flugtickets, Zugtickets, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel)
  • Tagungs-/Teilnahmegebühren

Folgende Ausgaben sind nicht erstattungsfähig:

  • Kosten für Unterbringung
  • Kosten für Verpflegung
  • Kosten für Bücher, Fotokopien und Freizeitaktivitäten
  • Kosten für private Reisen
  • Kosten für Reiserücktrittsversicherungen

Sollten die tatsächlichen Gesamtkosten Ihrer Reise die bewilligte Fördersumme überschreiten, kann die Differenz nicht erstattet werden.

 

Wann soll ich mich bewerben?

Bewerbungen können zu jedem Zeitpunkt eingereicht werden.

Die Begutachtung der Anträge erfolgt dreimal pro Semester zu den unten aufgeführten Stichtagen für den Eingang der Bewerbungen. Die Reisen sollen innerhalb von 6 Monaten nach den jeweiligen Stichtagen stattfinden.
 

Stichtage im Wintersemester:

1. Oktober
1. Dezember
1. Februar

 

Stichtage im Sommersemester:

1. April
1. Juni
1. August


Bitte reichen Sie Ihren Antrag unter Berücksichtigung des gewünschten Reisezeitraums und dem entsprechenden Stichtag ein. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Ihre Bewerbung zum frühestmöglichen Stichtag einzureichen.  Die Förderentscheidung wird ca. 4 bis 6 Wochen nach den oben aufgeführten Stichtagen bekannt gegeben. Sollte Ihre Reise während der Begutachtungsphase stattfinden, können wir Sie nicht vor Beginn Ihrer Reise über das Ergebnis Ihres Antrags informieren.

Wichtig: Anträge, die nach der passenden Frist eingehen, sowie unvollständige Anträge können nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Kann ich mich für eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe bewerben, bevor die Teilnahmebestätigung des Veranstalters vorliegt?

Ja. Der Zuschuss wird in diesem Fall unter Vorbehalt der Ausstellung der Teilnahmebestätigung bewilligt. Bitte geben Sie im Bewerbungsformular an entsprechender Stelle an, wann Sie mit der Bestätigung rechnen und reichen Sie diese nach Erhalt unverzüglich per E-Mail (ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de) in der Graduiertenakademie ein.

 

Wie kann ich sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie meine Bewerbung erhalten hat?

Leider ist es uns nicht möglich, den Eingang jeder Bewerbung automatisch zu bestätigen. Falls Sie sichergehen möchten, dass Ihre Bewerbung bei uns eingegangen ist und bearbeitet wird, können Sie sich per E-Mail an uns wenden: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de
Bitte beachten Sie, dass unvollständige Bewerbungen nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?

Das Begutachtungsverfahren dauert ca. 4 bis 6 Wochen nach Ablauf der festgelegten Stichtage. Die Bewilligungs- bzw. Ablehnungsbescheide werden unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Verfahrens auf dem Postweg verschickt.
Es ist nicht möglich, Sie über die Ergebnisse Ihrer Bewerbung vor Abschluss des Begutachtungsverfahrens zu informieren.
Leider ist es auch nicht möglich das Verfahren für Reisen, die bereits innerhalb des Begutachtungszeitraums stattfinden, zu beschleunigen. Falls Ihre Reise innerhalb dieses Zeitraums stattfindet, können wir nicht gewährleisten, dass Sie den Bescheid vor Antritt Ihrer Reise erhalten.

 

Was muss ich tun, um die Mobilitätsbeihilfe ausbezahlt zu bekommen?

Für die Auszahlung des Zuschusses ist es notwendig, dass Sie das ausgefüllte Formular zur Erstattung der Reisekosten (welches Ihnen zusammen mit dem positiven Bescheid zugeschickt wird) sowie alle Original-Belege und -Quittungen der entstandenen Kosten einreichen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur die hier aufgeführten Kosten durch die Mobilitätsbeihilfe gedeckt werden können. Ausgaben, für die Sie keinen Nachweis vorlegen, können nicht erstattet werden.

Sollten Sie für die vorliegende Reise Drittmittel erhalten haben, reichen Sie bitte auch eine Kopie Ihres Antrags bei der externen Organisation/Einrichtung mit dem Abrechnungsformular ein. Als Drittmittel gelten in diesem Fall Fördergelder von dritter Seite für die Erstattung der Teilnahmegebühren oder Reisekosten.

 

Wann erfolgt die Auszahlung der Mobilitätsbeihilfe?

Bei Bewilligung des Zuschusses werden Ihnen die zugesagten Kosten (auf der Grundlage von Ihren Angaben im Bewerbungsformular und unter Berücksichtigung der maximal möglichen Fördersumme) nach Ablauf der Reise und Eingang der notwendigen Unterlagen ausgezahlt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass hierfür alle erforderlichen Nachweise spätestens 1 Monat nach Ende der Reise in der Graduiertenakademie eingereicht werden müssen.

 

Kann ich eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen?

Ja. Für Reisekosten ab einer Gesamthöhe von 200 Euro können Sie im Bewerbungsformular (siehe: » Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare) eine Abschlagszahlung beantragen. Bei Bewilligung der Mobilitätsbeihilfe wird der Abschlag in Höhe von 80% der bewilligten Gesamtsumme ausgezahlt. Die Erstattung der restlichen Kosten i.H.v. bis zu maximal 20% der Fördersumme erfolgt nach Eingang der erforderlichen Unterlagen.

Bitte beachten Sie:

  • Die Auszahlung des Abschlags steht unter Vorbehalt und kann von der Graduiertenakademie widerrufen werden. Sollten die erforderlichen Unterlagen nicht spätestens einen Monat nach Ablauf der Reise in der Graduiertenakademie eingehen oder sollte die Reise nicht angetreten werden, muss eine Rückerstattung der Abschlagszahlung umgehend und spätestens binnen der einmonatigen Frist nach Ende der Reise an die Graduiertenakademie erfolgen.
  • Sollten die tatsächlichen Kosten Ihrer Reise unter der Höhe der Abschlagszahlung liegen, muss eine Rückerstattung des Differenzbetrags an die Graduiertenakademie erfolgen.

 

Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Mobilitätsbeihilfe, wenn ich die geplante Reise nicht antreten kann?

Der Zuschuss ist weder auf eine andere Reise noch auf eine andere Person übertragbar. Sollten Sie Ihre Reise also nicht antreten können, verfällt die Mobilitätsbeihilfe ohne Ersatz. Wir empfehlen den Abschluss einer Reiserücktrittsversicherung. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Kosten einer Reiserücktrittsversicherung nicht durch die Mobilitätsbeihilfe abgedeckt werden können.

 

 

 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

 

Was muss ich beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?

Bitte füllen Sie das Bewerbungsformular (siehe: » Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare) elektronisch aus. Speichern Sie hierfür das Formular auf Ihrem Computer, bevor Sie die Felder ausfüllen. Ihre Eintragungen werden sonst unter Umständen nicht übermittelt. Nach dem Ausfüllen speichern Sie die Änderungen bitte erneut.
Bitte benutzen Sie ein Apple- oder Windows-Betriebssystem, um die Formulare auszufüllen. Die Formulare sind nicht mit einem Linux-System kompatibel.
Bitte nutzen Sie in den Bewerbungsformularen nur die bereitgestellte Fläche für Ihre Eintragungen und ändern Sie nicht die Formatierung der Felder. Die Gutachterkommission kann keinen Text außerhalb der angegebenen Felder lesen.
 

 

Muss ich abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?

Alle Formulare und Dokumente, die für die Begutachtung Ihres Antrags notwendig sind, werden hier aufgeführt. Zusätzliche Dokumente, wie Publikationslisten, Literaturverzeichnisse oder Lebensläufe werden nicht zur Begutachtung weitergeleitet.

 

Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wie hoch die Kosten meiner Reise sein werden. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?

Wenn Sie noch nicht wissen, wie hoch genau die Kosten Ihrer Reise sein werden, tragen Sie bitte eine möglichst exakte Kalkulation der Ausgaben in das Formular ein. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Höhe der Mobilitätsbeihilfe bei einer Bewilligung auf diesem Wert (und unter Berücksichtigung der maximal möglichen Fördersumme) beruhen wird. Es ist nicht möglich, nachträglich eine höhere Summe, als auf dem Formular angegeben, erstattet zu bekommen.

 

Was sind Drittmittel und warum muss ich diese angeben?

Drittmittel sind finanzielle Mittel, die Ihnen von dritter Seite für Ihre Reise, Ihr Promotionsprojekt oder andere Forschungsprojekte zur Verfügung gestellt werden oder wurden.
Die Einwerbung von Drittmitteln kann sich im Entscheidungsprozess günstig auswirken. So wird z.B. ein Zuschuss oder Stipendium von einer anderen Seite als Auszeichnung bewertet.

Sollten Sie für die vorliegende Reise eine Förderung von dritter Seite erhalten und sollte diese (teilweise oder vollständig) Ihre Ausgaben für Teilnahmegebühren und/oder Reisekosten begleichen, erfolgt eine Verrechnung dieser Drittmittel mit der durch die Mobilitätsbeihilfe bewilligten Förderung.

 

Wer kann die Stellungnahme für meinen Antrag ausstellen?

Die Stellungnahme sollte von Ihrer Erstbetreuerin/Ihrem Erstbetreuer ausgestellt werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Stellungnahme vertraulich gegenüber der Bewerberin/dem Bewerber zu behandeln und direkt per E-Mail an die Graduiertenakademie (ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de) zu schicken ist. Für das Einreichen der Stellungnahmen gelten die gleichen Stichtage wie für die Bewerbungen.

Im Falle einer Verhinderung der Erstbetreuerin/des Erstbetreuers (Krankheit, Elternzeit, etc.) kann auch ein/e andere/r Hochschullehrer/in des Faches um die Begutachtung des Antrags und die Ausstellung der Stellungnahme gebeten werden.

 

» BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN UND -FORMULARE

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 22.07.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up