Bereichsbild
Contact

Graduate Academy
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
  E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Guidelines / FAQs for Applying for an external evaluation grant from the Faculty of Modern Languages

» Application procedure and forms

 

 

 

 

General questions

Who can apply for funding for an external evaluation?
► What is an external evaluation grant?
► Which expenses can be reimbursed by this grant?
When should I apply?
How do I know if the Graduate Academy has received my application?
When will I be notified of the decision regarding my application?
► What do I have to submit to have the external evaluation grant paid out?
► What will happen to my grant if the external evaluation cannot take place?
► What will happen to my grant if the external evaluation has to be postponed?
 

Questions about the application forms

► What do I need to consider when filling out the application form?
► Do I need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?
► I do not know exactly how high the expenses will be. Which expenses do I enter on the application form?
► I do not know exactly when the external evaluation will take place. Which date do I enter on the application form?
► What is meant by "external funding"?
► Who can issue the evaluation form for my application?

 

 



General questions

 

Who can apply for funding for an external evaluation?

The external evaluation grants are only open to doctoral candidates who were officially admitted to the Faculty of Modern Languages at Heidelberg University at least 6 months before the corresponding application deadline.

Please be aware that funding can be provided up to the time of the thesis defense and take this into consideration in your application.

 

What is an external evaluation grant?

The purpose of this grant is to cover some of the costs involved in having your doctoral project evaluated by an (international) external expert. The evaluator must have a doctoral degree and should generally also be a university professor. The award of the grant obligates the doctoral candidate to hold a colloquium with the external evaluator. This colloquium should be open to the doctoral candidates in the Faculty and should be advertised ahead of time. 

Note: The funding is awarded in the form of grants. The award of a grant does not establish an employment relationship between Heidelberg University and the recipient. The recipient of the grant may not be obligated to perform any specific academic service or employment activity in connection with the grant.

 

Which expenses can be reimbursed by this grant?

The external evaluation grant will reimburse the external expert's expenses for travel and accommodations (up to a maximum of two nights). The amount awarded for the grant will be based on the expenses that you list on your application form up to the maximum grant amount of 650 Euro per review procedure. Should the actual expenses exceed the maximum grant amount indicated in the awards notification, this difference will not be refunded. Please not that honorariums cannot be covered by this grant.

 

When should I apply?

Applications can be submitted at any time.

The applications will be collected and assessed as a group after the deadlines indicated below.

Deadlines:   

January 10
April 10
July 10
October 10


The external evaluation should take place within 6 months of the relevant application deadline. Please take this into consideration when choosing the deadline at which you apply. The awards notifications are sent out about 8 weeks after the deadlines. If the dissertation evaluation is scheduled during this application review period, please be aware that we will not be able to inform you about the result of your application before the dissertation evaluation begins.
 

Important: Incomplete applications and applications submitted after the latest appropriate deadline will not be considered.

 

How do I know if the Graduate Academy has received my application?

Unfortunately, it is not possible for us to automatically notify each applicant that their application has been received. If you want to check on the status of your application, please send an email to: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

Please note that incomplete applications will not be considered.

 

When will I be notified of the decision regarding my application?

The notifications are sent out by regular mail after the entire application review process is completed; this process takes about 8 weeks after each application deadline. It is not possible to inform you about the results of your application before all applications have been reviewed.

 

In order to have the grant paid out, it is necessary that all original receipts of the travel and accommodations expenses for the external expert are submitted to the Graduate Academy. Expenses for which there are no receipts available cannot be reimbursed.

If you also received external funding for the evaluation, please include a copy of your reimbursement application for the external organization with the form that you submit to the Graduate Academy in order to have this grant paid out. In this case, external funding is funding from an external source that is used to cover the expenses for travel and accommodations for the external evaluator.

 

What will happen to my grant if the external evaluation cannot take place?

The external evaluation grant cannot be transferred to another person or used for another purpose. If the external evaluation does not take place, you will forfeit the grant.

 

What will happen to my grant if the external evaluation has to be postponed?

It is possible to postpone an external evaluation; however, you must inform the Graduate Academy as soon as possible if this situation arises. In order for you to retain your grant, neither the evaluator nor the purpose of the stay may change.

 

 

Questions about the application forms

 

What do I need to consider when filling out the application form?

Please fill out the application form (see » Application procedure and forms) electronically; do not handwrite your application. In order to ensure that the electronic forms work with all versions of the Adobe software, we strongly recommend that you first download and save the empty application form on your computer and then fill the form out and save it again.

Please use an Apple or Windows operating system to fill out the forms. The forms are not compatible with a Linux system.

Please use only the space provided in the existing fields on the application forms. The committee will not be able to read any text that extends beyond the existing limits of the fields.

Please do not change the formatting of the fields on the application forms.

 

Do I need to submit any additional documents (e.g. publication lists, CV etc.)?

The application procedure and required application documents are indicated in detail here. Additional documents not listed on the website such as publication lists, literature lists, or CVs will not be sent to the committee.

 

I do not know exactly how high the expenses will be. Which expenses do I enter on the application form?

If you do not yet know your exact expenses, enter your best estimate on the application form. Please be aware that if you receive an external evaluation grant, the amount awarded in the grant will be based on these expenses. It will not be possible to claim more than the amount you enter on the application form.

 

I do not know exactly when the external evaluation will take place. Which date do I enter on the application form?

If you do not yet know the exact date of the external evaluators visit, enter the anticipated date of his/her stay after having consulted the expert and indicate on the application form that there may be changes in the dates of the visit. Please note that his/her evaluation should take place within 6 months after the application deadlines.

 

What is meant by "external funding"?

“External funding” refers to additional funds that you have received from an external funding organization to cover the expenses for the present evaluation, for your doctoral project or for another research project.

If you will receive or have received funding from an external source to cover the expenses for travel and accommodations for the external expert, the external funding amount may be offset against the amount approved for this external evaluation grant.

 

Who can issue the evaluation form for my application?

The evaluation form for your application must be issued and submitted to the Graduate Academy by your doctoral supervisor. Please note that the evaluation is to be treated confidentially by your supervisor and must be sent by your supervisor directly to the Graduate Academy: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de. Please be aware that the application deadlines also pertain to the receipt of the evaluation form.

If it is not possible for your first supervisor to fill out the evaluation form for you (e.g. due to illness, parental leave etc.), you can ask another professor in your subject area who is familiar with your project to evaluate your application and complete the form for you.

 

» APPLICATION PROCEDURE AND FORMS

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 2021-07-01
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt

Graduiertenakademie
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19792
E-Mail ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de

 

Richtlinien / FAQs für die Bewerbung um eine Förderung externer Expertise an der Neuphilologischen Fakultät

» Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare

 


 

 

Allgemeine Fragen

 

Wer kann diese Förderung beantragen?
► Wofür kann ich diese Förderung beantragen?
► Welche Kosten werden durch diese Förderung erstattet?
Wann soll ich mich bewerben?
Wie kann ich sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie meine Bewerbung erhalten hat?
► Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?
► Was muss ich tun, um die Fördersumme ausbezahlt zu bekommen?
► Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Förderung, wenn die externe Begutachtung nicht stattfinden kann?
► Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Förderung, wenn die externe Begutachtung verschoben werden muss?

 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

► Was muss ich beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?
► Muss ich abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?
Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wie hoch die Kosten sein werden. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?
► Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wann die Begutachtung durch die Expertin/den Experten stattfinden wird. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?
► Was sind Drittmittel und warum muss ich diese angeben?
Wer kann die Stellungnahme für meinen Antrag ausstellen?

 



Allgemeine Fragen

 

Wer kann diese Förderung beantragen?

Antragsberechtigt sind ausschließlich Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die zum entsprechenden Stichtag der Bewerbung mindestens 6 Monate an der Neuphilologischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg als Doktorand/in angenommen sind.

Eine Förderung ist möglich bis zum Termin der Disputation, was bei der Antragstellung berücksichtigt werden sollte.

 

Wofür kann ich diese Förderung beantragen?

Die Förderung dient dazu, Ihr Dissertationsvorhaben von einer/einem externen (internationalen) Expertin/Experten begutachten zu lassen. Die Expertin/der Experte muss promoviert sein und sollte in der Regel ein/e Hochschullehrer/in sein. Die Gewährung der Förderung verpflichtet die Doktorandin/den Doktoranden gemeinsam mit der/dem eingeladene/n Expertin/Experten zur Ausrichtung eines Kolloquiums. Diese Veranstaltung soll für weitere Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fakultät geöffnet und entsprechend angekündigt werden. 

Hinweis: Die Förderleistungen werden als Zuschüsse gewährt. Die Förderung begründet kein Arbeits- oder Dienstverhältnis zwischen der Universität Heidelberg und dem/der Geförderten. Der/die Empfänger/in der Beihilfe darf im Zusammenhang mit der Förderung nicht zu einer bestimmten wissenschaftlichen Gegenleistung oder sonstigen Arbeitnehmertätigkeit verpflichtet werden.

 

Welche Kosten werden durch diese Förderung erstattet?

Im Rahmen dieser Förderung werden Reise- und Unterbringungskosten (für bis zu maximal zwei Übernachtungen) der/des externen Expertin/Experten erstattet. Die Höhe der Beihilfe basiert auf den Angaben, die Sie auf dem Bewerbungsformular machen. Weiterhin gilt die maximale Fördersumme von 650 Euro pro Begutachtungsverfahren. Sollten die tatsächlichen Reisekosten der Expertin/des Experten die von Ihnen im Bewerbungsformular angegebenen Kosten oder die maximale Fördersumme von 650 Euro überschreiten, wird die Differenz nicht erstattet.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass im Rahmen dieser Förderung keine Honorare an die externen Expertinnen und Experten ausgezahlt werden können.

 

Wann soll ich mich bewerben?

Bewerbungen können zu jedem Zeitpunkt eingereicht werden.

Das Auswahlverfahren findet im vierteljährlichen Rhythmus mit den unten aufgeführten Stichtagen für den Eingang der Bewerbungen.

Stichtage:         

10. Januar
10. April
10. Juli
10. Oktober

 

Die Begutachtung durch die/den Expertin/Experten sollte innerhalb von 6 Monaten nach den jeweiligen Stichtagen stattfinden. Bitte reichen Sie Ihren Antrag unter Berücksichtigung des gewünschten Begutachtungszeitraums und dem entsprechenden Stichtag ein. Die Förderentscheidung wird ca. 8 Wochen nach den Stichtagen bekannt gegeben. Sollte die externe Begutachtung während des Auswahlverfahrens stattfinden, können wir Sie nicht vor Beginn der Begutachtung durch die/den externe/n Expertin/Experten über das Ergebnis Ihres Antrags informieren.

Wichtig: Anträge, die nach der passenden Frist eingehen sowie unvollständige Anträge können nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Wie kann ich sichergehen, dass die Graduiertenakademie meine Bewerbung erhalten hat?

Leider ist es uns nicht möglich, den Eingang jeder Bewerbung automatisch zu bestätigen. Falls Sie sichergehen möchten, dass Ihre Bewerbung bei uns eingegangen ist und bearbeitet wird, können Sie sich per E-Mail an uns wenden: ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de
Bitte beachten Sie, dass unvollständige Bewerbungen nicht berücksichtigt werden.

 

Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?

Das Auswahlverfahren dauert ca. 8 Wochen nach Ablauf der festgelegten Stichtage. Die Bewilligungs- bzw. Ablehnungsbescheide werden unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Verfahrens auf dem Postweg verschickt. Es ist nicht möglich, Sie über die Ergebnisse Ihrer Bewerbung vor Abschluss des Auswahlverfahrens zu informieren.
 

Was muss ich tun, um die Fördersumme ausbezahlt zu bekommen?

Für die Auszahlung des Zuschusses ist es notwendig, dass alle Original-Belege und -Quittungen der entstandenen Reise- und Unterbringungskosten der/des externen Expertin/Experten in der Graduiertenakademie eingereicht werden. Ausgaben, für die kein Nachweis vorlegt wird, können nicht erstattet werden.

Sollten Sie für die vorliegende externe Begutachtung Drittmittel erhalten haben, reichen Sie bitte auch eine Kopie Ihres Antrags bei der externen Organisation/Einrichtung mit unserem Abrechnungsformular ein.
Als Drittmittel gelten in diesem Fall Fördergelder von dritter Seite für die Erstattung der Reise- und Unterbringungskosten der/des externen Expertin/Experten.

 

Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Förderung, wenn die externe Begutachtung nicht stattfinden kann?

Die Förderung ist nicht auf eine andere Person oder einen anderen Zweck übertragbar. Sollte die externe Begutachtung nicht stattfinden, verfällt die Förderung ohne Ersatz.

 

Was passiert mit meiner bewilligten Förderung, wenn die externe Begutachtung verschoben werden muss?

Es ist grundsätzlich möglich, eine externe Begutachtung zu verschieben – allerdings müssen Sie die Graduiertenakademie in diesem Fall so schnell wie möglich darüber informieren. Voraussetzung für die Aufrechterhaltung der Bewilligung ist, dass es sich weiterhin um den/die gleiche/n Expertin/Experten handelt und sich am Zweck des Aufenthalts nichts ändert.

 

 

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen

 

Was muss ich beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars beachten?

Bitte füllen Sie das Bewerbungsformular (siehe: » Bewerbungsverfahren und -formulare) elektronisch aus. Speichern Sie hierfür das Formular auf Ihrem Computer, bevor Sie die Felder ausfüllen. Ihre Eintragungen werden sonst unter Umständen nicht übermittelt. Nach dem Ausfüllen speichern Sie die Änderungen bitte erneut.
Bitte benutzen Sie ein Apple- oder Windows-Betriebssystem, um die Formulare auszufüllen. Die Formulare sind nicht mit einem Linux-System kompatibel.
Bitte nutzen Sie in den Bewerbungsformularen nur die bereitgestellte Fläche für Ihre Eintragungen und ändern Sie nicht die Formatierung der Felder. Die Auswahlkommission kann keinen Text außerhalb der angegebenen Felder lesen.
 

Muss ich abgesehen von den angeforderten Unterlagen weitere Dokumente (z.B. Publikationslisten, Lebenslauf, etc.) einreichen?

Alle Formulare und Dokumente, die für die Sichtung Ihres Antrags notwendig sind, werden hier aufgeführt. Zusätzliche Dokumente, wie Publikationslisten, Literaturverzeichnisse oder Lebensläufe, werden nicht zur Begutachtung weitergeleitet.

 

Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wie hoch die Kosten sein werden. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?

Wenn Sie noch nicht wissen, wie hoch genau die Kosten sein werden, tragen Sie bitte eine möglichst exakte Kalkulation der Beträge in das Formular ein. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Höhe der Förderung bei einer Bewilligung auf maximal diesem Wert beruhen wird. Es ist nicht möglich, nachträglich eine höhere Summe, als auf dem Formular angegeben, erstattet zu bekommen.

 

Ich weiß noch nicht genau, wann die Begutachtung durch die Expertin/den Experten stattfinden wird. Was gebe ich auf dem Formular an?

Wenn Sie noch nicht wissen, zu welchem Zeitpunkt die Begutachtung durch die/den externe/n Expertin/Experten stattfinden wird, geben Sie nach Rücksprache mit der/dem Expertin/Experten ein voraussichtliches Datum für den Aufenthalt an und weisen Sie im Bewerbungsformular bitte darauf hin, dass sich noch Änderungen bei den Aufenthaltsdaten ergeben können. Grundsätzlich sollte die externe Begutachtung innerhalb von 6 Monaten nach den jeweiligen Stichtagen stattfinden.

 

Was sind Drittmittel und warum muss ich diese angeben?

Drittmittel sind finanzielle Mittel, die Ihnen von dritter Seite für die beantragte Fördermaßnahme, Ihr Promotionsprojekt oder andere Forschungsprojekte zur Verfügung gestellt werden oder wurden. Sollten Sie für die beantragte Fördermaßnahme Mittel von dritter Seite (für die Erstattung der Reise- und Unterbringungskosten der/des externen Expertin/Experten) erhalten, erfolgt ggf. eine Verrechnung dieser Fördermittel mit der durch die Expertenförderung bewilligten Fördersumme.

 

Wer kann die Stellungnahme für meinen Antrag ausstellen?

Die Stellungnahme sollte von Ihrer Erstbetreuerin/Ihrem Erstbetreuer ausgestellt werden. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Stellungnahme vertraulich gegenüber der Bewerberin/dem Bewerber zu behandeln und direkt per E-Mail an die Graduiertenakademie (ga-docs@uni-heidelberg.de) zu schicken ist. Für das Einreichen der Stellungnahmen gelten die gleichen Stichtage wie für die Bewerbungen.

Im Falle einer Verhinderung der Erstbetreuerin/des Erstbetreuers (Krankheit, Elternzeit, etc.) kann auch ein/e andere/r Hochschullehrer/in des Faches um die Begutachtung Ihres Antrags und die Ausstellung der Stellungnahme gebeten werden.

 

» BEWERBUNGSVERFAHREN UND -FORMULARE

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 01.07.2021
zum Seitenanfang/up