Ombudsperson for Doctoral Students

In March 2011, the office of ombudsperson was created to support doctoral students and supervisors at the University of Heidelberg. The two ombudsmen appointed to the office will act as confidential and impartial advisors and mediators to whom doctoral students and their supervisors can turn in cases of conflict surrounding their doctoral projects.
 

The office of ombudsperson is currently held by two professors:

Prof. em. Peter Meusburger (Geography) and Prof. Dr. Ingrid Lohmann (Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg - COS)


Questions or problems can be submitted initially by email or post. The ombudsperson will then contact the applicant in order to clarify the problem and determine which offices or authorities could contribute to finding a solution. In some cases, a simple advising session may be sufficient to resolve the problem. In other cases, the ombudsperson will, with the permission of the applicant, arrange a mediation session with the other parties involved. The ombudsperson has the authority to make recommendations regarding further action. The implementation of the recommendations, however, is up to the parties involved.
 

The services of the office of ombudsperson are free of charge and can not be contested in a court of law or referred to another authority. The jurisdictions of the doctoral committees and the committee for the ensurance of good academic practice remain unaffected.
 

Contact

  • Initial contact by post:

    Prof. em. Peter Meusburger
    Geographisches Institut
    Berliner Straße 48
    69120 Heidelberg

    Prof. Dr. Ingrid Lohmann
    Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg (COS)
    Im Neuenheimer Feld 230
    69120 Heidelberg

     
  • Contact through the Graduate Academy Service Point
     

Legal Statutes

  • Appointment by senate vote on September 14, 2010, initially for 2 years. Ombudsmen to take up office in March 2011.

 

Web Administrator: Falk
Latest Revision: 2015-10-13
zum Seitenanfang/up

Bereichsbild
Kontakt Graduiertenakademie

Servicestelle der Graduiertenakademie
Seminarstr. 2
1. OG, Raum 135
69117 Heidelberg

Telephone Icon 17x17  +49 (0)6221 / 54 - 19765
E-Mail graduiertenakademie@
uni-heidelberg.de

 
Kontakt Ombudsperson

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Lohmann

Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg (COS)
Im Neuenheimer Feld 230
69120 Heidelberg


E-Mail: ingrid.lohmann@cos.uni-heidelberg.de

 
Rechtliche Grundlagen

Ombudsperson für Promovierende

Den Promovierenden wie den Promotionsbetreuern und -betreuerinnen der Universität Heidelberg stehen seit März 2011 zwei Ombudspersonen als vertrauliche Ansprechpartner zur Seite. Im Falle von Konflikten, die sich aus der Arbeit an der Dissertation ergeben können, stellen sie eine unabhängige Instanz dar, an die sich sowohl Promovierende als auch Betreuer/innen wenden können. Die Ombudspersonen verstehen sich als Beratungs- und Vermittlungsstelle.
 

Das Amt der Ombudsperson wird derzeit von einer Professorin übernommen:

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Lohmann (Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg - COS)


Fragen oder Beanstandungen können zunächst per E-Mail oder schriftlich vorgebracht werden. Die Ombudspersonen nehmen daraufhin Kontakt mit der Antragstellerin bzw. dem Antragsteller auf, um die Problemlage und die Zuständigkeit zu klären. In manchen Fällen reicht eine Beratung aus; in anderen Fällen werden die Ombudspersonen mit Zustimmung der Antragstellerin/des Antragsstellers die beteiligten Personen kontaktieren und Aussprachen organisieren. Die Ombudspersonen können Empfehlungen aussprechen, deren Umsetzung den betroffenen Parteien überlassen bleibt.
 

Das Verfahren vor der Ombudsperson ist gebührenfrei und kann nicht auf dem Rechtsweg angefochten oder an eine andere Instanz weitergeleitet werden. Unberührt bleiben die Zuständigkeiten etwa der Promotionsausschüsse oder der Kommission zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis.
 

Kontaktmöglichkeiten

  • Postalisch über die Institutsadresse:

    Prof. Dr. Ingrid Lohmann
    Centre for Organismal Studies Heidelberg (COS)
    Im Neuenheimer Feld 230
    69120 Heidelberg
     
  • Über die Servicestelle der Graduiertenakademie

 

Rechtliche Grundlagen

  • Statut Ombudsperson
    entwickelt vom Kuratorium der Graduiertenakademie und verabschiedet vom Senat der Universität Heidelberg am 14.09.2010
  • Einsetzung durch Wahl im Senat am 09.11.2010

 

Verantwortlich: Falk
Letzte Änderung: 13.02.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up