Individual Doctoral Training or a Structured Doctoral Programme?

The University offers two different models of doctoral training: individual doctoral training and doctoral training within a structured doctoral program. The decision as to what kind of training to pursue will depend to a great extent on your chosen discipline and topic as well as on your own personal research and work preferences.

Individual Doctoral Training

This is the classic model of doctoral training in Germany and is still very prevalent in the humanities and social sciences. In this model, the doctoral student chooses a research topic and works more or less on an individual basis with his or her doctoral supervisor. You are not required to participate in a structured program of coursework and there is no additional, formal framework of support or mentoring. To find out how to pursue individual doctoral training, please go to the page: How do I become a doctoral student?

Doctoral Training within a Structured Doctoral Program

This model has become increasingly popular since 1989, especially in the natural and life sciences. In Heidelberg, there are many different kinds of programs ranging from small research training groups with 3-5 researchers up to large graduate schools with 100 or more members. In all cases, the structured program of courses and workshops and the supervision by more than one professor or even a doctoral committee are vital components of the programs. In many programs, candidates must pass through a multi-stage application procedure in order to be admitted. There is a list of all structured doctoral programs at the University of Heidelberg here (link). For more detailed information on the application process and the various programs in Heidelberg, please go to the pages:

 

Pfeil How do I become a doctoral student?

Pfeil Structured Doctoral Programmes

Web Administrator: Fedtke
Latest Revision: 2016-04-20
zum Seitenanfang/up

Individualpromotion oder Promotion in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm?

Die Universität Heidelberg bietet zwei verschiedene Varianten der Promotion an: die Individualpromotion oder die Promotion in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm. Die Entscheidung darüber, welche Variante der Promotion Sie wählen, hängt stark von Ihrem Fachbereich und Dissertationsthema sowie von Ihren eigenen Forschungs- und Arbeitsgewohnheiten ab.

Individualpromotion

Die Individualpromotion ist der klassische Weg zum Doktortitel in Deutschland, besonders in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Sie bietet große Freiheit bei der Gestaltung und Durchführung des Promotionsvorhabens und erfordert dadurch verstärkt selbständige Organisation. Bei der Individualpromotion wählt der/die Promovierende mit der Unterstützung des Betreuers/der Betreuerin ein Forschungsthema und arbeitet mehr oder weniger eigenständig und auf individueller Basis mit ihm/ihr. Individualdoktorandinnen und -doktoranden durchlaufen neben der Dissertation kein vorab strukturiertes Förderprogramm in Form von Lehrveranstaltungen und Workshops. In der Regel gibt es auch keine zusätzlichen formellen Rahmenbedingungen für die Unterstützung von Promovierenden.

Weitere Informationen über den Weg zur Individualpromotion:

► Wie beginne ich eine Promotion?

Promotion in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm

Die Promotion in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm ist ein neuer Weg, den deutsche Universitäten seit 1989 ermöglichen. Strukturierte Promotionsprogramme gibt es in Heidelberg in vielen Varianten. Von kleineren Promotionskollegs mit 3-5 Forscherinnen und Forschern bis hin zu Graduiertenschulen mit mehr als 100 Mitgliedern. Das strukturierte Förderprogramm in Form von Lehrveranstaltungen und Workshops ist ein wichtiger Teil des Konzepts einer Promotion in einem Promotionsprogramms. Promovierende in solchen Programmen werden zusätzlich häufig nicht nur von einer Person betreut, sondern von mehreren Personen in einem Betreuungskomitee.

Weitere Informationen über Bewerbungsmodalitäten sowie über die in Heidelberg angebotenen Programme:

► Wie beginne ich eine Promotion?
► Strukturierte Promotionsprogramme

Verantwortlich: Fedtke
Letzte Änderung: 20.04.2016
zum Seitenanfang/up